Witty World

Saturday, February 5, 2011

Did u know that General K. M. Cariappa became the First Commander-in-Chief of Indian Armed Forces after Independence?

15th January is a date of importance because of General K.M. Carippa, the man who made the Indian Army truly Indian. It was on this day, in, 1949, when General Kodandera Madappa Cariappa took over as the first Indian Commander in Chief of the Indian Army from General Roy Butcher, the last British Commander. 

This year 63rd anniversary of Indian Army. The Army re-dedicates itself to become a part of the ‘War Winning Team’ on this day. The Army Day is celebrated in the form of parades and various different kinds of army shows in not just the national Capital - Delhi but also, all the other 6 Army Command Headquarters. The day begins with paying homage to the martyred soldiers at the Amar Jawan Jyoti at the India Gate, New Delhi. It is followed by parades and many military shows which feature the technology and achievements in Army which is held at the Delhi Cantonment every year. Unit credentials and Sena Medals are also presented for gallantry on the occasion.

The Indian Army is the largest branch of the armed forces of India and bears responsibility for land based military operations. It is the world’s third largest. Its primary objectives include defending India from external aggression, maintaining peace and security within the country, patrolling borders and conducting counter - terrorist operations. It also conducts rescue and humanitarian operations during calamities and other disturbances.

The Indian Army fights adversities on borders as well as with natural calamities. It works with true dedication and spirit of the motto ‘fight to win’.

Hence, 15 January is a day to salute The Jawans. So let us all salute the valiant soldiers & freedom fighters who sacrificed their lives to protect our country and the people living in it thus, instilling democratization in India.



© 2010 Witty International School, All rights reserved
Website by En Interactive Technologies Pvt. Ltd.